Norwalk High School has been presented then 2023 Carrie Chapman Catt Award by Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate. The award goes to schools that registers at least 90% of eligible students to vote. Receiving the award are, from left, Jacob Holck, Norwalk High government teacher; Charlie Poppens, student body president; Kelsey Dammeier; Ashlyn Brasel, Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate, Anya Kallenbach, student body president-elect; Emma Sizemore; Audrey Adams; and Warren County Auditor Traci VanderLinden.

Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate presented the 2023 Carrie Chapman Catt Award to Norwalk High School, Woodward-Granger High School, Ballard High School, and West Marshall High School on Thursday, May 18. The award goes to any school that registers at least 90% of eligible students to vote. Each school surpassed the mark during the 2022-23 school year.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.