Celebrating the Class of 2020

Indianola High School students cheer for of their friends and schoolmates who play basketball. They are loud and have fun together.

Indianola High School would have held its scholarship awards night Thursday. While COVID-19 cancelled the event, along with Wednesday's school academic honors, the awards were still made. Here is a list of scholarships awarded to Indianola seniors.

Chris Hade Memorial Scholarship — Thomas Krapfl

Carousel Community Theater Book Scholarship — Isabella DeVito

Teresa Jacobsen Memorial Scholarship — Payton Belt

Teresa Jacobsen Memorial Scholarship — Brooklyn Pottebaum

Teresa Jacobsen Memorial Scholarship — Kassie Baker

Warren County Fair Scholarship — Preston Pettit, Maggie Staudacher and Ian Ackerson

St. Thomas Aquinas Altar and Rosary Society Scholarship — Nicholas Koenig and Thomas Krapfl

PEO Simpson Scholarship — Ashley Rockhold

Frank D Lillie Scholarship — Faith Evans

Frank D Lillie Scholarship — Thomas Krapfl

Frank D Lillie Scholarship — Andreas Miller

Community First Credit Union Scholarship — Heather Willmott

Indianola Peoples Bank Scholarship — Abigail Hill

Elks Most Valuable Scholar National Semi-Finalist — Brayden Beinhart

Indianola Noon Lions Club Scholarship — Ashley Rockhold

Masonic Lodge-Grand Lodge of Iowa Scholarship — Heather Willmott

Dobber’s Up Scholarship — Blake Kennedy

High School State Heisman Scholar/State Scholarship — Tom Krapfl

Aurean Scholarship — Brayden Beinhart

Learning Disabilities Association of Iowa Scholarship — Madeline Green

Craig Long Memorial Scholarship — Will Young

Indianola Music Boosters Scholarship — Heather Willmott

Indianola Music Boosters Scholarship — Ben Richardson

Indianola Music Booster/ Vicki Montgomery Memorial Scholarship — Caleb Nostrala

Indianola Athletic Boosters Scholarships — Tom Krapfl, Anna Marvelli, Ely Flaherty, Andreas Miller, Bailey Blake, Tyce Johnson, Grace Smith, Brooklyn Pottebaum, Molly Sage, Terrell Hagener, Nicholas Koenig, Miranda Murphy, Payton Belt, Ali Brewer, Blake Kennedy, Ashley Rockhold and Brennan Meacham.

Marcia Hansen Educational Scholarship/Four-Year College — Ben Richardson and Mary Flaharty

Marcia Hansen Educational Scholarship/Two-Year College — Madeline Green and Deikan Reed

Iowa State University/Christina Hixson Opportunity Award — Joyce Felarca

Hagan Scholarship — Brayden Beinhart

Charitable Trust Scholarship-Hormel Foods — Heather Willmott

Iowa Limestone Producers Association — Blake Kennedy


Ian Ackerson, Iowa Central Community College — Student Merit Scholarship, Agricultural Scholarship

Sophia Bell, Drake University — Presidential Scholarship, Lindquist Scholarship

Alison Brewer, University of Arizona — Arizona Distinction Award

Liam Christensen, University of Iowa — Iowa Flagship Award, Charles and Eleanor Wilson Scholarship

Isabella DeVito, Drake University — Presidential Scholarship, Drake Supplemental Grant

Faith Evans, Ozark Christian College — Ambassador Scholarship, Alumni Scholarship, Ozark Scholarship

Ava Gabel, Chaminade University of Honolulu — Presidential academic award

Collin Geurts, William Jewell College — Swimming scholarship, Dean’s scholarship

Maddie Hayes, Iowa State University — FBI National Academy of Studies scholarship

Abigail Hill, North Central University — NCU academic scholarship, North Central Grant, DYD scholarship

Christian Jauron, University of Northern Iowa — Panther Impact Award

Abby McCormick, Iowa State University — ISU Forever Scholar, engineering scholarship

Kathryn Murphy, Lawrence University — Academic scholarship

Benjamin Parkins, Cornell College — Iowa Promise Award

Breydon Paxson, Grandview University — Trapshooting scholarship, Dean scholarship, Scholarship Day scholarship

Brooklyn Pottebaum, St. Ambrose — Academic scholarship, Dunn scholarship, athletic scholarship

Jeffrey Roberts, Simpson College — Scholarship Day award

Emily Rolands, University of Missouri — Black and Gold award

Grace Smith, University of Iowa — Honors program, Iowa Scholars

Jacob Thomas, Grandview University — Directors award; scholarship competition award; E-sports scholarship

Heather Wilmott, University of Oklahoma — National Merit/University of OK Scholarship, support committee scholarship

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.